Union Territory of India

Scholarship Examination in India

Now let’s have a look at the seven Union Territories of India with their governing bodies It is important to note that Union Territories have a different governing structure. They are under direct control of the central government and the President of India appoints an Administrator or Lieutenant Governor for each Union Territories. But some Union Territories in India have a local legislature and a chief minister (such as Delhi or Chandigarh)  are somewhat different as they get to choose their own elected legislative assemblies and the executive councils of ministers with partially state-like function.

The Union Territories of India becomes even more important! These may be asked in both written exams and interviews. We have listed below the same in an easy manner to revise. Here we have provided the capital of the union territory of India and governing bodies with their position to remember easily.

The questions related to  Union Territories in India were generally asked in various Competitive Exams (i.e. SSC CGL, IBPS, RRB etc).

List of Union Territory of India: Capital & Governing Bodies

Union territory

Capital City

Minister/ Governor – Political party

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Port Blair

Central government rule

2. Chandigarh


Mayor – Harphool Chandra Kalyan

3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli


B.S. Bhalla – IAS Officer 

4. Daman and Diu


B.S. Bhalla – IAS Officer 

5. Lakshadweep


Farooq Khan – IPS Officer (BJP member)

6. Delhi – National Capital Territory


Arvind Kejriwal (AAP)

7. Puducherry (Pondicherry)


V. Narayanasamy (INC)

Popular Topics

Trending Now
Types of Dance Form in IndiaPresidents and Prime Ministers of India
World Presidents and Prime MinistersIndia's State Capitals and Chief Minister
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in IndiaList of First in India
Superlatives of India Bharat Ratna Award Winners
Famous Palaces in IndiaIndia's World Ranking in Development
Top Crops Production States in IndiaSpace Centers in India
List of Waterfalls in IndiaNational Parks in India
List of Museums in IndiaPopular Temples in India
Jnanpith Award WinnersBrand Ambassadors of Popular Company's
Indian Military Exercises with Other Countries Indian Banks Headquarter and Tagline
Important Indian OrganizationList of Government Schemes in India
Union Territory of IndiaPopular Missiles of India
List of Religions in the WorldChief Justices of India
National Symbol of IndiaIndian Railway Headquarters and Division
Rural Banks in IndiaList of Ports in India
National and International Airports in IndiaPopular Lakes in India
Superlatives of WorldFamous Sports Personalities in India
Famous Indian Cities NicknamePopular International Boundary
Indian Ambassadors in Foreign CountriesThermal and Hydro Power Station in India
Major Airlines in the WorldNickname of Famous Personalities
State Symbols of IndiaPopular Cites Nickname
Famous Cricket Stadiums in the WorldReputed Indian Sports Award Recipients
CEO's / Chairman of Indian BanksReligious Movements of India
Indian Political PartiesTiger Reserves in India
Important Indian History DatesPopular Indian History Battles and Wars
Foreign Banks in IndiaList of World "Father of the Nation"
List of Booker Prize WinnersLIC AAO (Assistant Administrative Officer)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *