Presidents and Prime Ministers of India

Scholarship Examination in India

The President of India is the head of state of India and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The President is referred to as the first citizen of India. Although vested with these powers by the Constitution of India, the position is largely a ceremonial one and executive powers are de facto exercised by the Prime Minister.

The President is elected by the Electoral College composed of elected members of the parliament houses, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, and also members of the Vidhan Sabha, the state legislative assemblies. Presidents may remain in office for a tenure of five years, as stated by article 56, part V, of the Constitution of India. In the case where a President’s term of office is terminated early or during the absence of the President, the Vice President assumes office. By article 70 of part V, the parliament may decide how to discharge the functions of the President where this is not possible, or in any other unexpected contingency.

List of Presidents of India:

No.President Name (Birth and Death)PhotographElectedTook OfficeLeft OfficeTerm (in Month)Vice President
1Rajendra Prasad
 Presidents of India1952
26 January 195012 May 1962120Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
2Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Presidents of India196213 May 196213 May 196760Zakir Husain
3Zakir Husain – Died in office
Presidents of India196713 May 19673 May 196924Varahagiri Venkata Giri
Varahagiri Venkata Giri – Did not complete assigned term
 Presidents of India3 May 196920 July 19693
Mohammad Hidayatullah – Acting President
Presidents of India20 July 196924 August 19691
4Varahagiri Venkata Giri
 Presidents of India196924 August 196924 August 197460Gopal Swarup Pathak
5Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed – Died in office
 Presidents of India197424 August 197411 February 197736Gopal Swarup Pathak (1974)

Basappa Danappa Jatti(1974–1977)

Basappa Danappa Jatti – Acting President
Presidents of India11 February 197725 July 19776
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Presidents of India197725 July 197725 July 198260Basappa Danappa Jatti(1977–1979)

Mohammad Hidayatullah(1979–1982)

7Zail Singh
Presidents of India198225 July 198225 July 198760Mohammad Hidayatullah(1982–1984)

Ramaswamy Venkataraman(1984–1987)

8Ramaswamy Venkataraman
Presidents of India198725 July 198725 July 199260Shankar Dayal Sharma
9Shankar Dayal Sharma
Presidents of India199225 July 199225 July 199760Kocheril Raman Narayanan
10Kocheril Raman Narayanan
Presidents of India199725 July 199725 July 200260Krishan Kant
11Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam
Presidents of India200225 July 200225 July 200760Krishan Kant(2002)

Bhairon Singh Shekhawat(2002–2007)

12Pratibha Patil
Presidents of India200725 July 200725 July 201260Mohammad Hamid Ansari
13Pranab Mukherjee
Presidents of India201225 July 201225 July 201760Mohammad Hamid Ansari
14Ram Nath Kovind
Presidents of India201725 July 2017Incumbent
Venkaiah Naidu

The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India. In India’s parliamentary system, the Constitution names the President as head of state de jure, but his or her de facto executive powers are vested in the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers. Appointed and sworn-in by the President, the Prime Minister is usually the leader of the party or alliance that has a majority in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India’s Parliament.

List of Prime Ministers of India:

No.Prime Minister Name (Birth-Death)PhotographPrior OfficePolitical PartyTerm in Office
1Jawaharlal Nehru
Prime Ministers of IndiaVice President of Executive CouncilIndian National Congress15 August194715 April1952
15 April195217 April1957
17 April19572 April1957
2 April195727 May
Gulzarilal Nanda (acting)
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of Labour and EmploymentIndian National Congress27 May
9 June
2Lal Bahadur Shastri
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of Home AffairsIndian National Congress9 June
11 January
Gulzarilal Nanda (acting)
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of Home AffairsIndian National Congress11 January
24 January
3Indira Gandhi
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of Information and Broadcasting – Prime Minister (Re-elected)Indian National Congress24 January
4 March1967
4 March196715 March1971
15 March197124 March
4Morarji Desai
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of Finance and Deputy Prime Minister of India before he resigned in 1969Janata Party24 March
28 July
5Charan Singh
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of FinanceJanata Party (Secular)
with INC
28 July
14 January
(3)Indira Gandhi
Prime Ministers of IndiaFormer Prime MinisterIndian National Congress14 January
31 October
6Rajiv Gandhi
Prime Ministers of IndiaMP for AmethiIndian National Congress31 October
31 December1984
31 December19842 December
7Vishwanath Pratap Singh
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of DefenceJanata Dal
(National Front)
2 December
10 November
8Chandra Shekhar
Prime Ministers of IndiaMP for BalliaSamajwadi Janata Party
with INC
10 November
21 June
9Pamulaparti Venkata Narasimha Rao
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of External AffairsIndian National Congress21 June
16 May
10Atal Bihari Vajpayee
(born 1924)
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of External AffairsBharatiya Janata Party16 May
1 June
11Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda
(born 1933)
Prime Ministers of IndiaChief Minister of KarnatakaJanata Dal
(United Front)
1 June
21 April
12Inder Kumar Gujral
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of External AffairsJanata Dal
(United Front)
21 April
19 March
(10)Atal Bihari Vajpayee
(born 1924)
Prime Ministers of IndiaFormer Prime MinisterBharatiya Janata Party
19 March
10 October1999
10 October199922 May
13Manmohan Singh
(born 1932)
Prime Ministers of IndiaMinister of FinanceIndian National Congress
22 May
22 May2009
22 May200926 May
14Narendra Modi
(born 1950)
Prime Ministers of IndiaChief Minister of GujaratBharatiya Janata Party
26 May

[table id=1 /]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Presidents and Prime Ministers of India

  • August 24, 2018 at 5:20 am

    Your blog is awesome. I hope you can continue delivering many more article in the future.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *