Power Plants in India

Scholarship Examination in India

Static General Knowledge is the integral part of all the Government exams like SSC Exams, IBPS Exams and other competition exams. If you are preparing for any government exam, then knowing about the Important Power Plants in India will help you to score well in the exam.

List of Thermal Power Plants in India:

Thermal power is the largest source of power in India. There are different types of Thermal power plants based on the fuel used to generate the steam such as coal, gas, and Diesel. About 65% of electricity consumed in India are generated by thermal power plants. Thermal power plants mainly require large amount of water as coolant, so usually all power plants are situated near the rivers. Different entrance exams having the static GK component ask sample number of questions from this category. So, for your ease we are providing below the list of  different types Thermal Power Plants in India.

Name of Thermal Power Plant/ Station
Andhra PradeshSimhadri Super Thermal Power Plant
BiharBarauni Thermal Power Station 
Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Station 
Muzaffarpur Thermal Power Plant 
ChhattisgarhBhilai Expansion Power Plant 
Korba Super Thermal Power Plant 
Sipat Thermal Power Plant 
Dr Shyama Prakash Mukharjee Thermal Power Plant
DelhiBadarpur Thermal Power Plant 
Indraprashta Power Station 
Rajghat Power Station
GujaratGandhinagar Thermal Power Station 
Jhanor-Gandhar Thermal Power Station 
Kawas Thermal Power Station 
Kutch Lignite Thermal Power Station 
Mundra Thermal Power Plant 
Sabarmati Thermal Power Station 
Sikka Thermal Power Station 
Surat Lignite Thermal Power Station 
Ukai Thermal Power Station 
Wanakbori Thermal Power Station
JharkhandBokaro Thermal Power Station 
Chandrapura Thermal Power Station 
Patratu Thermal Power Station
KarnatakaBellary Thermal Power Station 
Raichur Super Thermal Power Station 
Udupi Thermal Power Plant
Madhya PradeshAmarkantak Thermal Power Station 
Sanjay Gandhi Thermal Power Station 
Sant Singaji Thermal Power Plant 
Satpura Thermal Power Station 
Vindhyachal Super Thermal Power Station
MaharashtraAmravati Thermal Power Plant 
Bhusawal Thermal Power Station 
Chandrapur Super Thermal Power Plant 
Khaperkheda Thermal Power Station 
Koradi Thermal Power Station 
Nashik Thermal Power Station 
Paras Thermal Power Station 
Parli Thermal Power Station 
Tirora Thermal Power Plant
OdishaIB Thermal Power Plant 
Hirakud Captive Power Plant 
Talcher Super Thermal Power Station
RajasthanAnta Thermal Power Station 
Barsingsar Lignit Power Plant 
Chhabra Thermal Power Plant 
Giral Lignite Thermal Power Station 
Rajwest Lignite Power Plant 
Suratgarh Super Thermal Power Station 
VS Lignite Power Plant
Tamil NaduEnnore Thermal Power Station 
Mettur Theral Power Station 
Neyveli Thermal Power Station 
North Chennai Thermal Power Station 
Tuticorin Thermal Power Station
Uttar PradeshAnpara Thermal Power Station 
Auraiya Thermal Power Station 
Feroz Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant 
Harduaganj Thermal Power Station 
National Capital Thermal Power Plant 
Obra Thermal Power Station 
Panki Thermal Power Station 
Pariccha Thermal Power Station 
Rihand Thermal Power Station 
Rosa Thermal Power Station 
Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station 
Tanda Thermal Power Plant
West BengalBakreswar Thermal Power Station
Bandel Thermal Power Station 
Durgapur Thermal Power Plant 
Durgapur Thermal Power Station 
Farakka Super Thermal Power Station 
Kolaghat Thermal Power Station 
Mejia Thermal Power Station 
Sagardighi Thermal Power Station 
Santaldih Thermal Power Station

List of Nuclear Power Plants in India:

S.No.Name of PlantState
1.Jaitapur Nuclear Power plantMaharashtra
 2.Gorakhpur Nuclear Power plantHaryana
 3.Madras Nuclear Power plantTamil Nadu
 4.Kovvada Nuclear Power plantAndhra Pradesh
 5.Mithi Virdi (Viradi) Nuclear Power plantAndhra Pradesh
 6.Haripur Nuclear Power plantAndhra Pradesh
 7.Bhimpur Nuclear Power plantMadhya Pradesh
 8.Mahi Banswara Nuclear Power plantRajasthan
 9.Chutka Nuclear Power plantMadhya Pradesh



List of Hydro Power Plants in India

“India is the 7th largest producer of hydroelectric power.Hydroelectric power potential of 84,000MW at 60% load factor is one of the largest in the world.The present installed capacity as on 31 March 2016 is 42,783 MW which is 14.35% of total utility electricity generation capacity in India.
India also imports surplus hydro power from Bhutan. The hydro-electric power plants at Darjeeling and Shivanasamudra were established in 1898 and 1902 respectively and were among the first in Asia. India has been dominant player in global hydro power development.”

Power stationStateTotal capacity (MW)
Tehri DamUttarakhand2400 MW
Srisailam DamAndhra Pradesh1670 MW
NagarjunasagarAndhra Pradesh965 MW
Sardar SarovarGujarat1450 MW
Baspa-IIHimachal Pradesh300 MW
Nathpa JhakriHimachal Pradesh1500 MW
Bhakra DamPunjab1325 MW
DeharHimachal Pradesh990 MW
Baira SuilHimachal Pradesh180 MW
Chamera-IHimachal Pradesh540 MW
Chamera-IIHimachal Pradesh300 MW
PongHimachal Pradesh396 MW
Uri Hydroelectric DamJammu & Kashmir480 MW
DulhastiJammu & Kashmir390 MW
SalalJammu & Kashmir690 MW
SharavathiKarnataka1469 MW
KalinadiKarnataka1240 MW
Linganamakki DamKarnataka55 MW
IdukkiKerala780 MW
Bansagar DamMadhya Pradesh425 MW
Bargi DamMadhya Pradesh105 MW
Madikheda DamMadhya Pradesh60 MW
OmkareshwarMadhya Pradesh520 MW
Indira SagarMadhya Pradesh1000 MW
LoktakManipur105 MW
KoynaMaharashtra1920 MW
Mulshi DamMaharashtra150 MW
Jayakwadi DamMaharashtra12 MW
Kolkewadi DamMaharashtraMW
RangeetSikkim60 MW
Teesta-VSikkim510 MW
TanakpurUttarakhand120 MW
Dhauliganga-IUttarakhand280 MW
LoharinagUttarakhand600 MW

[table id=1 /]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *